Civil Registration - Chesterfield District

Created 1st July 1837.
Sub-districts : Ashover; Bolsover; Chesterfield; Dronfield; Eckington.
GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1930).

Ashover, Barlow, Bolsover, Brackenfield, Brampton, Brimington, Calow, Chesterfield, Claycross, Clay Lane, Coal Aston, Dronfield, Dronfield Woodhouse, Eckington, Egstow, Great Barlow, Hasland, Heath, Holmesfield, Killamarsh, Little Barlow, Morton, Newbold and Dunston, North Wingfield, Pilsley, Shirland and Higham, Staveley, Stretton, Sutton cum Duckmanton, Tapton, Temple Normanton, Tupton, Unstone, Walton, Wessington, Whittington, Wingerworth, Woodthorpe.

Registers now in Chesterfield district.

Derbyshire Ordinance Survey Maps

Chesterfield Address

New Beetwell Street
S40 1QJ

Tel +44 (0)1246 234754

Registration and Census District (1852 - 1946) 7b

Ordering information:

(a) the cost of a certificate is 6.50 (from 1st April 1998) - send a Sterling cheque payable to the Superintendent Registrar plus return postage or two International Reply Coupons;
(b) the Family Records Centre Index references (formerly available at St Catherine's House) are of no value;
(c) for marriage certificates, the precise place of marriage must be given;
(d) Civil Registration in England and Wales began on July 1st 1837.


Back to Chesterfield page



© Copyright 2001-2003. All rights reserved. Contact: Pat Connors